Cats

Img_0841

So, it appears that Leda has thrown down the gauntlet.  Can I, a bona fide cat lover, let Leda’s former post go unanswered?  I think not.

While some in the world enjoy the vagaries of slobber and the sounds of toenails clicking on the tile floors, others of us prefer the comfort of purrs and oh-so-velvety fur.

And while dogs do loom large in the history of picture books, so too do our feline friends.

Here are some of my favorites.  What are some of yours?

SOPHIE’S SURPRISE, Shirley Holt and Lee Richardson

KITTEN’S FIRST FULL MOON, Kevin Henkes

ROTTEN RALPH, Jack Gantos

WILDERNESS CAT, Natalie Kinsey-Warnock, Mark Graham

CHARLIE ANDERSON, Barbara Abercrombie, Mark Graham

LUCKY RUSSELL, Brad Sneed

CAT HEAVEN, Cynthia Rylant

WHEN CATS DREAM, Dav Pilkey

KAT KONG, Dav Pilkey

MILLIONS OF CATS, Wanda Gag

WABI SABI, Mark Reibstein, Ed Young

SKIPPYJON JONES, Judy Schachner

Honorable mention goes to Tabby in the MR. PUTTER AND TABBY books, by Cynthia Rylant and Arthur Howard.

May your lives be filled with kittens!

 

 

 

 

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Cats

  1. ledas

    Oh, good for you, Kathi! And I thought I was being so subtle!

  2. Bigfoot

    Has anyone else noticed the release of a lot of cat picture books in 2011? I love WON TON: A CAT TALE TOLD IN HAIKU by Lee Wardlaw. Also in love with CAT SECRETS by Jef Czekaj and RAJ THE BOOKSTORE TIGER by Kathleen T. Pelley. Don’t miss the Binky graphic novels by Ashley Spires.

    Okay, now who’s going to do the hamster list?

  3. Bigfoot

    I forgot to mention I love the CHESTER series of picture books by Mélanie Watt.

  4. writerjane

    body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;} My current work in progress features both cat and dogs but the dog part had to come from research :>  Anyone else have the challenge of “selling” something by borrowing someone else’s passion?

  5. terrypierce

    Great list, Kathi, and thank you for keeping things in balance. Dogs are great (thank you, Leda) but really, a cat list is essential. To the list I would also add, THE ALLEYCAT’S MEOW by the modest Kathi Appelt, SPLAT THE CAT by Rob Scotton, and a new favorite, WON TON: A CAT TALE TOLD IN HAIKU by Lee Wardlaw (which has already won some awards). This is a must-read for any cat-lover.

  6. Uma Krishnaswami

    Kathi, my sister of the heart and page! Having NO idea that you were posting this, look at my blog post this morning! Just look: http://umakrishnaswami.blogspot.com/2011/12/best-endeavour.html

    And here are more cat picture books, these in the classics dept.
    SIX DINNER SID by Inga Moore
    SO MANY CATS by Beatrice Schenk de Regniers
    HI, CAT by Ezra Jack Keats
    TOP CAT by Lois Ehlert
    TEMPLE CAT by Andrew Clements
    MOUSEHOLE CAT by Antonia Barber

  7. Kathi Appelt

    Bigfoot! All this time, I have misjudged you, thinking that you were of the dog-side of the world.

    And Uma, we are so connected!

  8. Julie Larios

    I am working on my cockatiel list.I think the lack of a longer list is due to their lack of fur. Fur is needed to build true loyalty.

  9. terrypierce

     So true, Julie. Just this morning I was cuddling with my cat and massaging his back, rubbing my fingers deep into his fur. I once had a cockatiel that I adored, but it just wasn’t the same.  

  10. Laura Kvasnosky

    Did anyone mention GINGER Charlotte Voake? It’s a perfect book.

  11. Kathi Appelt

    Ack! How could I ever forget Ginger? Thanks for reminding us, Laura.

  12. terrypierce

     I forgot about GINGER too. And while we’re at it, who can forget THE COLOR KITTENS, that Little Golden Book from long ago. I’d bet that many future artists loved that book.   Terry

Leave a Reply

