Getting Started… Again

Over here at the Write At Your Own Risk blog, we’ve taken a much needed end-of-summer break to recharge our collective battery, change our blogging platform, and refresh our look. Aren’t we purdy now?
🙂

I love new beginnings. There’s nothing better than typing Chapter One on a blank computer screen or breaking in a brand new notebook that’s just been waiting for a new poem or story. It’s a wonderful thing, isn’t it?

If you’re anything like me, however, you have a million ideas for things you’d like to start… one day. Oh boy. I have ton of them — short stories, novels, movie scripts, blogs, TV series, etc. etc. etc. There’s an embarrassing amount of things I’d like to do but have never taken the time to think through or flesh out.

Oh, who am I kidding? Once I write the idea down, most of the time I never even see it again!

“The sure sign of an amateur is somebody who has a million plans that all start tomorrow.”
— Steven Pressfield in Turning Pro

It’s October 1st now. There are three full months left in 2012. Why not take a moment to look through your old notebooks to see if any of those ideas have potential? Perhaps there’s something there you’ve never spent any time actually considering doing. Perhaps you were just waiting for the right time. Perhaps you’ve talked yourself out of something before talking yourself into it.

Maybe, if you spent a little more time seeing if one of those ideas had potential, it might be the next big thing you throw yourself into. By the end of the year, that little idea in the back of a notebook somewhere could be on its way to becoming a finished project!

The Write at Your Own Risk blog has started again. What will you start today?

~Coe

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Getting Started… Again

  1. I started a new project today. Actually, it’s not brand new, but it’s such an overhaul that it feels new.

  2. Have you been peeking in my notebook? (-: I just looked at the many things I’ve started or said I want to write about. I am going to choose one and get the balll rolling….again.
    Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. So glad you’re now at WordPress because posting comments is easy here! (More than once I failed to get my comments to show up at the other site.) Bravo! Nice look. Now as for starting fresh… ahhhhhhh!!!!!!!! I much prefer editing. Blank pages are so… daunting. I have to write “Shitty First Draft” (thank you, Anne Lamott) at the top in order to christen the page and dive in. Then and only then do the words begin to flow…

Leave a Reply

