Be the Radiance

Rose

“We all crave radiance in this austere world.” —Elizabeth Alexander

At the January 2011 VCFA residency I prefaced my lecture on teaching writing with this:

“Last Sunday morning as I was preparing to leave my cozy, warm house and enter a snowy world to drive to Vermont College for our all day faculty meeting, I heard an interview on NPR with Elizabeth Alexander whose new book, CRAVE RADIANCE, contains a poem with these lines: “We all crave radiance in this austere world.” While I don’t habitually consider the world I live in all that austere, I was feeling its bleakness that morning after hearing news the day before of the shooting of Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords along with eighteen other people, another sad, senseless, violent act perpetrated by a person whose lack of radiance in life sought to steal another’s. Elizabeth Alexander’s poem caught fire inside my imagination in that moment and I realized that I live as I do, as a writer and teacher of writing, because I crave radiance, and that you are here studying writing because you, too, crave radiance. We are meant to be radiant beings and to share that response to life with others, teaching and learning, reading and writing, bringing stories of radiance into our world—sometimes joyful or funny stories, sometimes sad ones that reflect the reality of moments of austerity and pain, real stories and fantastic tales, ones that are read by children who also crave radiance.”

Now, as I prepare to attend the January 2013 VCFA residency, I am still feeling the dimming of radiance we all experienced on December 14, 2012 when little children, some in the act of reading our books in hopes our words would bring them comfort, courage, and escape, were shot down in the halls and classrooms of their own school, Sandy Hook Elementary. Between this 2013 residency and that 2011 one, there have been other violent acts, many others, in our world, so many ways to dim the radiance in these children’s lives and in our own lives.

Over the years I’ve assumed we would make progress in curbing gun violence, but I’ve never taken an active part in trying to make that happen. Now, that has to change. I must find a way to do whatever is in my power to make change happen. As a writer whose books these very children might have read, those books, in fact, that were silent witnesses to their last moments, I cannot write another word for children to give them stories if I do not fight for them to live to read them.

When I was a child there was a saying that went something this: “Your freedom extends to the end of my nose.” Can we not say that the freedom of the gun extends only to the beating of my heart? When a fist hits a nose, the bully’s freedom must be curtailed. After all, we always say freedom implies responsibility. Who is responsible for the terror of these children and the grief of these families if not all of us who do not act to stop the next bullet before it hits the next innocent heart? Whether we who write for children and young adults take overt political action or write stories that help change the world and save lives or stories that change lives and save the world, we will do what we can to overcome the world’s austere darkness with radiance.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Be the Radiance

  1. Martine Leavitt

    Thank you for this, Sharon. Who is responsible: a very good question..

  2. lisa

    Sharon – I, too, had never taken any action on gun control – I was just hoping and assuming it would happen. Now I am emailing a LOT of people. It turns out, it is very simple to email anybody and everybody in government. I started with my own rep and went from there. I think that’s what it is going to take – prolonged, sustained, intense pressure from a vast amount of people. So, I now consider it a daily chore that simply has to get done and I hope others are doing the same. Enough already – I’m tired of the inmates running the asylum.

  3. louisehawes

    What a coincidence, Sharon! I just finished posting Sheamus Heany’s poem, “Digging” on my facebook update. In it, the poet admits he can’t weild a hoe or a shovel the way his Irish ancestors did. All he has is a pen, he says, and “I’ll dig with that.” Sometimes, as after 9-11 or these horrific shootings, we writers question our worth, what we do. But stories matter, and we need to keep reminding ourselves of that, don’t we? Thanks!

  4. Some websites are also used to broadcast information and not to sell anything.
    com is an SEO tool for monitoring and analysis of
    online competition. One for the much discussed
    component is the backlinks in the operation of search engine
    optimization.

  5. There is no room for doubt that the algorithms
    of the two search engines are different, since both are constantly changing, none of them is made publicly available by
    its authors and the details about how each of the algorithms function are obtained
    by speculation based on probe-trial tests for particular keywords, it is not possible to say for certain what exactly is different.
    This explains why the majority of corporations and companies have special teams
    of marketing qualified personnel or higher competent services to
    cover all marketing business management.
    The Google Ranking tool allows you to quickly check the ranking value of
    any webpage whether it be yours or your competitor’s page.

  6. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution
    & assist different users like its aided me.
    Good job.

  7. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wondering your situation; many of us have developed some nice practices and we are looking to swap methods with others, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  8. Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog
    and look forward to new posts.

  9. I savor, lead to I found exactly what I was having a look for.
    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.

    Have a nice day. Bye

  10. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.
    I am attempting to find things to enhance my website!I suppose
    its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  11. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation;
    we have created some nice practices and we are
    looking to swap solutions with other folks, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  12. Having read this I thought it was rather informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  13. May I just say what a comfort to find a person that actually knows what they’re discussing on the net. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people have to look at this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you are not more popular because you definitely possess the gift.

  14. ‘ Newsworthy pieces from your field of expertise that your audience would find interesting. Focus on whitehat SEO techniques for targeted Internet marketing that will give your site a strong page rank and search engine rankings that do not risk throwing all of your precious effort down the drain. It is therefore very important to consider keyword selection when designing your website.

  15. Social bookmarking websites are one of the most widely used tools for link
    building. Also mind that reciprocal links have practically no effect on SEO.
    I am going to give you a list of all of the free SEO tools that you will ever need – This is
    the kind of information that the people selling SEO products
    don’t want you to know.

  16. There are many different levels of landscaping businesses to start, from simple lawn care to advanced, earth moving projects; however,
    the exact strategy should be marketed towards the general need required by the customer.
    Following are three questions to ask yourself that will help you
    decide whether learning SEO online, or via an in-person class, is better for you.

    Thus, there are high chances of sandboxing such over optimized sites by
    the SEs.

  17. ” This is when the question I have been dreading must be asked. The reality is that whichever backlink tool or software you select is not absolutely flawless. Most are simply primitive dashboards and essentially clones of one another.

Leave a Reply

