Hey, you.

Yeah, you. The writer who’s reading this right now. There’s something you’ve been avoiding. You’ve been avoiding writing it, or you’ve been shying away from even thinking about it. Could be a scene, a confrontation, a character. Could be a whole book you’re afraid to start.

Chances are also good that it’s something you’ve already written, only you did it halfass. And you know you did. You’ve always had an underlying niggling feeling about it. You’ve done your best to ignore or dismiss that niggling feeling, but it’s never quite gone away.

Whatever you’ve been avoiding, it’s time to quit f*cking around. NOW.

Today, in your thinking and your writing, you’re not going to hide. You’re not going to allow yourself to dance around whatever it is. You’re not going to let yourself be distracted by how pretty you can get your dancing-around to be.

Today you will shut off the worries and fears–because those are about you–and just be about the work. Your work is something only you can do. You’re a writer, dammit. That means you owe your writing your raw and honest best.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Hey, you.

  1. Thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  2. Maaaan, how can you see me avoiding my writing all the way from Texas?

  3. Oh man! Are you reading my journal??? I totally needed this today!

  4. Ellen Reagan

    Feeling found out.

  5. Shannon Morgan

    Consider my ass kicked.

  6. kmquimby2014

    A slip of paper is taped above my laptop screen. It’s been in a similar place through at least one desk top and two other laptops. Every time I buy a new computer, I transfer the paper. For one simple reason. After one or another pre-mature submission was rejected, something dawned on me:

    “It’s not about me, it’s about the work.”

    What you said, Amanda. What you said.

  7. Um, yeah. Okay. I’m back to work. Seriously. I am.

  8. Anne Bowen

    Thank you, Amanda! Absolutely what I needed today.

  9. I like your catchyness with the audience. You grab them right away with the starter sentence. Maybe it would be nice if you wrote a real life event blog about something happening today. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Pushing the Limits | Write at Your Own Risk

  11. Pingback: Pushing the Limits | Uma Krishnaswami

Leave a Reply

